You have just spent a day or a weekend at Puy du Fou, and you want to continue your discovery of the Vendée bocage? Here are our suggestions for visits to spend a day discovering the nuggets of our heritage and our natural corners.

We take you on a discovery of the Vendée bocage, between exotic nature and surprising and unusual cultural breaks. On the way !

Travel journal

Refreshing morning

Start the day in peaceful and silent nature at Lac de la Vouraie between Saint-Hilaire-le-Vouhis and Bournezeau. We offer 2 possibilities for walks: the Amanéa trail (a family trail to walk over 2,5 km) or for the more athletic, a hike that goes around the lake for 14 km.

Discovering the senses

Unique in France, the Amanéa trail – the emotional trail du Pays de Chantonnay offers a new approach to “nature bathing”. Imagine: we walk on a path, mobiles made of slates ring at the top of a tree, then 15 wooden poles whistle in the wind. Further on, discover engraved stones. The Amanea trail from Vouraie Lake allows to live a family adventure : artistic stages to live with sound experiences on works in stone and wood.

A sporty walk

Put on your hiking boots and take a breath of fresh air, going around the lake on the 14 km circuit. This trail is accessible to mountain bikes if you wish to come with your bike! Afforestation on the steep hillsides, meadows on the gentle slopes, you will enjoy a varied and bucolic landscape.


Lunch break

It is in a real water mill that you can taste the cuisine of this atypical restaurant. You will discover its superb mechanism dating from the beginning of the XNUMXth century. This pleasant and original setting also offers you a shady park, for lunch in the heart of lush greenery.

In this authentic and warm setting, Claire and Romual and their team will make you discover their passion for cooking by offering you modern cuisine, of the greatest freshness, full of color, based on local products.

The Lower River THE OIE
85140 ESSARTS IN BOCAGE
Calculate my route

Enjoy a cultural break

Space Gaston Chaissac

For art lovers, visit the Espace Gaston Chaissac and its blue sugar box in Sainte-Florence – Essarts-en-Bocage. Enjoy the poetic and colorful universe of the painter Gaston Chaissac, singular artist. Unusual : discover a work by Gaston Chaissac in the toilets of the former public school (listed as a historical monument).

Firm. Opens at 14:00 p.m.
1 rue de la Scierie
85140 SAINT-FLORENCE
Calculate my route

Spend the afternoon by the water

Continue the afternoon and end the day on the banks of the Maine at the Maison de la Rivière in Montaigu-Vendée to discover the open-air art exhibition, and to enjoy a boat trip to admire the works on water.

Firm. Opens at 14:00 p.m.
Place du Lavoir (visitor car park) Saint George of Montaigu
85600 MONTAIGU-VENDEE
Calculate my route

Dinner in the Vendée bocage


Roadtrip itinerary

1

Vouraie Lake

2

Space Gaston Chaissac

3

River House

Themes

Was this content useful to you?

Vous venez de faire une journée ou un week-end au Puy du Fou, et vous souhaitez poursuivre votre découverte du bocage vendéen ? Voici nos suggestions de visites pour passer une journée à la découverte des pépites de notre patrimoine et de nos coins nature.

Nous vous emmenons à la découverte du bocage vendéen, entre nature dépaysante et des pauses cultures étonnantes et insolites. En route !

Carnet de voyage

Matinée ressourçante

Débutez la journée dans une nature paisible et silencieuse au lac de la Vouraie entre Saint-Hilaire-le-Vouhis et Bournezeau. Nous vous proposons 2 possibilités de balade : le sentier d’Amanéa (un sentier en famille à arpenter sur 2,5 km) ou pour les plus sportifs, une randonnée qui fait le tour du Lac sur 14 km.

A la découverte des sens

Unique en France, le sentier d’Amanéa – le sentier à émotions du Pays de Chantonnay propose une nouvelle approche du « bain de nature ». Imaginez : on avance sur un sentier, des mobiles composés d’ardoises sonnent au sommet d’un arbre, puis 15 poteaux de bois sifflent dans le vent. Plus loin, découvrez des pierres gravées. Le sentier d’Amanéa du Lac de la Vouraie permet de vivre une aventure en famille : des étapes artistiques à vivre avec des expériences sonores sur des œuvres en pierre et bois.

Une promenade sportive

Chaussez vos chaussures de randonnée et prenez un bon bol d’air, en faisant le tour du lac sur le circuit de 14 km. Ce sentier est accessible aux VTT si vous souhaiter venir avec votre vélo ! Boisement sur les coteaux abrupts, prairies sur les pentes douces, vous profiterez d’un paysage varié et bucolique.


Pause déjeuner

C’est dans un véritable moulin à eau que vous pourrez déguster la cuisine de ce restaurant atypique. Vous y découvrirez son superbe mécanisme datant du début du XVIIème siècle. Ce cadre agréable et original vous offre également un parc ombragé, pour déjeuner au cœur d’un écrin de verdure.

Dans ce cadre authentique et chaleureux, Claire et Romual et leur équipe vous font découvrir leur passion pour la cuisine en vous proposant une cuisine moderne, de la plus grande fraîcheur, pleine de couleur, à base de produits locaux.

RESTAURANT LE MOULIN DE LA RIVIÈRE

RN 137
La Basse Rivière
L 'OIE
85140 ESSARTS EN BOCAGE
Calculer mon itinéraire

Profiter d’une pause culture

Espace Gaston Chaissac

Pour les passionnés d’art, visitez l’espace Gaston Chaissac et sa boîte à sucre bleue à Sainte-Florence – Essarts-en-Bocage. Profitez de l’univers poétique et coloré du peintre Gaston Chaissac, artiste singulier. Insolite : découvrez une œuvre de Gaston Chaissac dans les toilettes de l’ancienne école publique (classée monument historique).

Fermé. Ouvre mardi à 14h00

ESPACE GASTON CHAISSAC

1 rue de la Scierie
85140 SAINTE-FLORENCE
Calculer mon itinéraire

Passer l’après-midi au bord de l’eau

Poursuivez l’après-midi et terminez la journée au bord de la Maine à la Maison de la Rivière à Montaigu-Vendée afin de découvrir l’exposition d’art en plein air, et pour profiter d’une balade en barque pour admirer les œuvres sur l’eau.

Fermé

LA MAISON DE LA RIVIÈRE

Place du Lavoir (parking visiteurs)
Saint Georges de Montaigu
85600 MONTAIGU-VENDEE
Calculer mon itinéraire

Dîner dans le bocage vendéen


Itinéraire du roadtrip

1

Lac de la Vouraie

2

Espace Gaston Chaissac

3

Maison de la Rivière

Thématiques

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu