The history of the Vendée bocage is closely linked to the Catholic religion, like Saint-Laurent-sur-Sèvre, the holy city of Vendée.

Along the walks, discover the preserved religious heritage: churches, abbey, crosses and calvaries...


Sculpted for the Universal Exhibition of 1887, the Archangel Saint-Michel has been erected at the top of the bell tower since 1897. Renovated in 2012 and covered with more than 8500 gold leaves, it dominates the village of Saint-Michel-Mont-Mercure (municipality of Sèvremont), highest point of the Vendée.

Not to be missed

  • The Chapel of the Alouettes is a place of remembrance of the Vendée War, with its nearby mill, still in operation.
  • Le Sanctuary of La Salette is a picturesque religious architectural ensemble and a place of pilgrimage of the Virgin Mary.
  • La Saint-Sauveur Chapel is built around the remains of the old church and converted today into a cultural space for contemporary art.
  • Le Priory of Grammont is one of the best preserved priories in France. It was built by Richard Coeur de Lion in the XNUMXth century.
  • THEéglise Our Lady of Old Pouzauges is a Romanesque building with magnificent wall frescoes dating from the XNUMXth and XNUMXth centuries.
  • THESaint Christophe Church de Mesnard la Barotière offers a real treasure of medieval art with its frescoes and wall paintings.
  • THEGrainetière Abbey has been built in the heart of the Herbiers countryside since 1130. It is home to around ten monks accompanied by an association who are committed to bringing this listed building to life.

Focus on the Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel at the Flocellière

Jacques de Maille-Breze, marquis de la Flocellière, is at the origin of this building. The convent church was consecrated on August 15, 1658, following the arrival of the Carmelites at La Flocellière. The convent was then devastated by the Infernal Columns during the Revolution and the remains were abandoned until 1867. To this date, Father Dalin (parish priest of La Flocellière) bought the building which he undertook to renovate. Then, Father Dalin had a certified copy of the Santa Casa de Loreto made. She was blessed on December 10, 1873.

Today, by going to the Notre-Dame de Lorette Chapel, you can admire:

  • The church of the former Carmelite convent : founded around 1640 and restored around 1870 after destruction during the Revolution. It remains from the XNUMXth century, only the portal as well as the first stone of the convent. The stained glass windows and the altarpiece are from the XNUMXth century.
  • The “Santa Casa” (Holy House) : listed in the Supplementary Inventory of Historic Monuments. The Holy House is the faithful replica of the Santa Casa de Loreto in Italy, erected in 1873.

Was this content useful to you?